Board of Education

  • Northwest Community School District Bylaws & Policies


    2018-2019 Board of Education Meeting Dates
    August 13 - 5:00 p.m.
    NEC - Admin. Office Board Room
    September 10 - 5:00 p.m.
    NEC - Admin. Office Board Room
    October 8 - 5:00 p.m.
    NEC - Admin. Office Board Room
    November 12 - 5:00 p.m.
    NEC - Admin. Office Board Room
    December 10 - 5:00 p.m.
    NEC - Admin. Office Board Room
    January 14 - 5:00 p.m.
    NEC - Admin. Office Board Room
    February 11 - 5:00 p.m.
    NEC - Admin. Office Board Room
    *March 18 - 5:00 p.m.
    NEC - Admin. Office Board Room
    *April 15 - 5:00 p.m.
    NEC - Admin. Office Board Room
    May 13 - 5:00 p.m.
    NEC - Admin. Office Board Room
    June 10 - 5:00 p.m.
    NEC - Admin. Office Board Room
    * The March and April Board Meetings will be held on the third Monday in their respective months.
    NEC = Northwest Education Center




    A Special Board of Education meeting is scheduled for Monday, July 15, 2019, at 5:00 p.m. in the NEC-Administration Office Board Room, 6900 Rives Junction Road, Jackson, Michigan, for the purpose of addressing organizational matters, taking action on personnel recommendations, and any other business that may come before the Board.  



    Mission Statement

    The mission of Northwest Community Schools is to provide a positive culture that inspires students to achieve greatness.


    All board members receive a packet of information prior to each scheudle meeting.  This packet contains a draft agenda, reports, background information, recommendations, etc. for studey so that the member can come to the meeting prepared to make decisions.

    Citizen Participation

    The public is welcome to attend all meetings of the School board and to present and discus matters or personal interests.  The procedure for speaking is to turn in a Community Comment Speaker Form to the School board Secretary indicating the topic of interest prior to the "public communication" porttion of each meeting. 

    Unless an extension of time is granted, a speaker is limited to five (5) minutes per individual or twelve (12) minutes for a representative of a group. Complaints concerning school personnel or students cannot be discussed in an open public meeting unless the individual(s) involved are notified and agree (P.A. 267 of 1976). The presiding officer of the Board of Education will make all decisions related to the public communications period. The Board of Education meets regularly on the SECOND MONDAY of each month, and all meetings begin at 5:00 p.m. unless otherwise posted.  For 2017-2018, the January, March, and April Board Meetings will be held on the THIRD MONDAY in their respective months.

    Board Members

    The seven members of the Northwest Community Schools' Board of Education are elected for six-year terms (beginning November 2012). In addition, a Northwest High School student is selected annually to act as a liaison between the student body and the Board. The elected members interpret and approve the educational programs and policies of the district. The responsibility of executing these policies lies with the Superintendent of Schools. The School Board elects its own officers for one-year terms each January. When vacancies develop on the Board, the remaining members appoint a trustee who serves until the next Board of Education election. 

    What is a Board of Education?

    The Board of Education is a policy-making body, responsible to the State of Michigan and local school district citizens for the education of public school pupils. It approves programs of study and textbooks, the hiring of all teachers, administrators, and other school employees, and may endorse programs such as preschool courses, enrichment classes, high school completion, adult enrichment, and senior citizen programs.

    As one of Jackson County’s quality school districts, the School Board's business also includes construction, equipping and maintenance of building and grounds, securing funds for school operational needs, and approving all spending.

    Board of Education Members


    Shawn White President
    Brad Wait Vice President
    Bob Sayles Treasurer
    Phil LaMaire Secretary
    Dan Griswold Trustee
    Nick Rush Trustee
    Craig Staudinger Trustee