Board of Education

  • Northwest Community School District Bylaws & Policies



    2020-2021 Board of
     Education Meeting Dates
    August 10 - 5:00 p.m.
    NEC - Admin. Office Board Room
    September 14 - 5:00 p.m.
    NEC - Admin. Office Board Room
    October 12 - 5:00 p.m.
    NEC - Admin. Office Board Room
    November 9 - 5:00 p.m.
    NEC - Admin. Office Board Room
    December 14 - 5:00 p.m.
    NEC - Admin. Office Board Room
    January 11 - 5:00 p.m.
    NEC - Admin. Office Board Room
    February 8 - 5:00 p.m.
    NEC - Admin. Office Board Room
    *March 15 - 5:00 p.m.
    NEC - Admin. Office Board Room
    April 12 - 5:00 p.m.
    NEC - Admin. Office Board Room
    May 10 - 5:00 p.m.
    NEC - Admin. Office Board Room
    June 14 - 5:00 p.m.
    NEC - Admin. Office Board Room
    * The March Board Meeting will be held on the third Monday in March.
    NEC = Northwest Education Center


    The January 11, 2021, Regular Board Meeting will be held as an electronic/virtual meeting (Zoom) to be in compliance with Executive Orders issued by MDHHS during the COVID-19 Pandemic.  The meeting will begin at 5:00 p.m.  The link to the meeting and the agenda summary will be posted on the district's home web page no later than Friday, January 8, 2021.      




    Mission Statement

    The mission of Northwest Community Schools is to provide a positive culture that inspires students to achieve greatness.


    All board members receive a packet of information prior to each scheduled meeting.  This packet contains a draft agenda, reports, background information, recommendations, etc. to ensure that the board members can come to the meeting prepared to make decisions.

    Citizen Participation

    The public is welcome to attend all meetings of the School Board and to present and discuss matters or personal interests.  The procedure for speaking is to turn in a Community Comment Speaker Form to the School Board Secretary indicating the topic of interest prior to the "public communication" portion of each meeting. 

    Unless an extension of time is granted, a speaker is limited to five (5) minutes per individual or twelve (12) minutes for a representative of a group. Complaints concerning school personnel or students cannot be discussed in an open public meeting unless the individual(s) involved are notified and agree (P.A. 267 of 1976). The presiding officer of the Board of Education will make all decisions related to the public communications period. The Board of Education meets regularly on the SECOND MONDAY of each month, and all meetings begin at 5:00 p.m. unless otherwise posted.  For 2019-2020, the March Board Meeting will be held on the THIRD MONDAY in March due to a calendar conflict.

    Board Members

    The seven members of the Northwest Community Schools Board of Education are elected for six-year terms (beginning November 2012). In addition, a Northwest High School student is selected annually to act as a liaison between the student body and the Board. The elected members interpret and approve the educational programs and policies of the district. The responsibility of executing these policies lies with the Superintendent of Schools. The School Board elects its own officers for one-year terms each January. When vacancies develop on the Board, the remaining members appoint a trustee, through an interview process, who will serve until the next Board of Education election. 

    What is a Board of Education?

    The Board of Education is a policy-making body, responsible to the State of Michigan and local school district citizens for the education of public school pupils. It approves programs of study and textbooks, the hiring of all teachers, administrators, and other school employees, and may endorse programs such as preschool courses, enrichment classes, high school completion, adult enrichment, and senior citizen programs.

    As one of Jackson County’s quality school districts, the School Board's business also includes construction, equipping and maintenance of building and grounds, securing funds for school operational needs, and approving all spending.

    Board of Education Members


    Brad Wait President
    Nick Rush  Vice President
    Bob Sayles  Treasurer
    Dan Griswold Secretary
    Katie Pitchford  Trustee
    Libby Lounds Trustee
    Allison Cooper Trustee